City of Gibraltar

Mayor & Council

The Gibraltar City Council consists of Mayor Garrett Shumate and six (6) Councilmembers (shown below)
who have been nominated and elected by the resident voters to represent our City. The responsibilities of the City Council
generally involve city government and administration policies, as well as adopting budgets, laws, ordinances, resolutions, and legislation.

Council Meetings are held on the 2nd & 4th Mondays of each month at 6:30 p.m. located in the Council Chambers at City Hall.


Garrett Shumate

City Mayor

Phone: (734) 676-7287
Fax (734) 676-7509

Open Office Hours: 
Every Monday, 4:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Conference Room next to the Council Chambers at City Hall

Message from Mayor Shumate:

To my Gibraltar neighbors,

Two-way dialogue is critical to ensure your elected representatives are held accountable for acting based on the best interest of our city and the people that make it possible. I am reaching out to establish weekly office hours to provide an informal setting for us to get to know one another and discuss any issues, unmet needs, and priorities that you would like your current administration to consider. My open office hours will be held every Monday from 4-6pm in the Conference Room next to the Council Chambers at City Hall. I hope to see you there, and in the meantime, please don’t ever hesitate to reach out at

Thank you,
Garrett Shumate

City Council

Rick Cox

Marsha Kozmor

Art McNabb

Rob Molnar

Patrick Valentine

Dorothy Wood